Welcome to My World

Sign up for my monthly newsletter and get a morbid adventure in your inbox.

2020 News:

I’ll be reading from Unsafe Words on August 5 over Zoom for Story Hour. They haven’t updated their calendar yet, but here’s the website: https://www.storyhour2020.com/

Unsafe Words, a collection of my horror/science fiction/dark fantasy short stories, will be out in late September. I can’t wait to show you the cover by Lynne Hansen!

Never bargained for you coverIf you’re looking for something spicy to read, my short story “Never Bargained for You” is available as a free ebook at Bookfunnel. Check out the succubus Lorelei on the prowl in the LA music scene of the 1970s: https://dl.bookfunnel.com/v8o5w54mzk

My story “Mr. Moonlight” has been accepted for The Sirens Call #50. Download a copy for free: http://www.sirenscallpublications.com/pdfs/SirensCallEZine_June2020.pdf

My poem “Transubstantiation” was accepted for the HWA Poetry Showcase! I haven’t had a poem published in decades.

Angelus Rose, the sequel to Lost Angels, available in paperback on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and at Indiebound. In ebook, it’s on sale for the Kindle on Amazon, for the Nook at Barnes & Noble, on Smashwords in every format, and wherever ebooks are sold.

You can get a taste of the As Above, So Below series by watching the book trailer:


The Oddities & Curiosities Expo, scheduled for the San Mateo Event Center, has been postponed until Halloween 2020.

The First Annual Queer Book Fest in Sacramento, California has been postponed until 2021. I’ll post the new date when I have it.

The Nebula Conference has been rescheduled for May 2021. My Office Hour answering questions about the Future of Death will take place then.

My proposal to speak at the Association for Gravestone Studies conference in Austin, Texas has been accepted, but the conference has been postponed until next year.

The Powerhouse Comic Con has been rescheduled for next year.

2019 News:

199 Cemeteries To See Before You Die made the UK Guardian’s list of Top 10 Cemetery Books.

I had a little flash fiction Alondra story called “Rock Faces” up on the Ladies of Horror Flash Project.

Mental Floss let me update my Road Trips of the Ultimate Taphophile piece.

I’m very excited to announce I’ve edited an anthology called Tales for the Camp Fire to raise money for the survivors of the most devastating wildfire in California’s history.  The book will be released on May 2nd.  Contributors include Nancy Etchemendy, Dana Fredsti, LS Johnson, EM Markoff, Ben Monroe, Gene O’Neill, and more.

Out now! A new Ariel and Raena story (the characters from The Dangerous Type) appears in the ebook of the Spring 2019 issue of Space & Time. The story is called “The Arms Dealer’s Daughter.” You can order a copy here: https://weightlessbooks.com/format/space-and-time-magazine-issue-133/

A brand-new story called “In the Pines” appears in the Women in Horror issue of Siren’s Call magazine. You can read it for free here: http://www.sirenscallpublications.com/pdfs/SirensCallEZine_February2019.pdf.

Occult Detective 5

“Something in the Water,” a new Alondra story — this one set at San Francisco’s Academy of Sciences — appears in the current issue of Occult Detective Quarterly.  In this case, scientists come face to face with an implacable ancient spirit and Alondra must broker the peace. You can pick up a copy on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2NEysyC.

I was a guest on the Strange Familiars podcast, talking about cemeteries with my old friend Timothy Renner — who took me to Gettysburg the last time I was in Pennsylvania. Check out our conversation here: https://www.strangefamiliars.com/e/episode-74-deaths-gardens/

2018 News:


A new Alondra story appears in Weirdbook #40. In “Elle a Vu un Loup,” Alondra travels to Mackinac Island in northern Michigan to face a monster that has terrorized the close-knit community. Check it out at http://weirdbook-magazine.com/.

I was a guest on the On the Odd podcast, talking about cemeteries and ghosts: https://ontheodd.com/199-cemeteries-to-see-before-you-die/

I have a very short story from Alondra’s childhood up now here.

Also out last year:

“The three stories collected in Alondra_s Experiments are filled with sensual magic that whispers like velvet. Alondra DeCourval walks with monsters, magicians, and old and deep poweAlondra’s Experiments, a collection of three short stories about Alondra DeCourval, is available for the kindle from Amazon. The stories appeared previously in Instant City, Not One of Us, and Wily Writers.

Alondra's InvestigationsAlondra’s Investigations is also available on Amazon for the kindle. The chapbook includes stories previously published in New Realm magazine and in the books Sins of the Sirens and The Haunted Mansion Project: Year One.

Alondra’s Adventures just came out on Amazon. It contains stories previously published in Not One of Us and the books Best New Horror #27 and Fright Mare: Women Write Horror. Here’s the link: https://amzn.to/2Kyafb7.

Nancy Kilpatrickauthor of_Thrones of Blood seriesPower of the Blood series